For Girl Scout Troop 20035 in Mason City Iowa

Just checked my email and had an awesome set of questions from 7th graders out of Mason City.  Here are the answers.

Tim and I decided to ride our bikes because he’s had a life long goal of biking across the USA, one day he sporatically (I though it was a joke) asked me if I’d go with him.  Two weeks later we have bikes and are leaving for San Diego.  I’m always up for an adventure, so when it became real, I was pumped.

We’re averaging over 70 miles everyday.  That’s between 4-5 hours of sitting on a bike seat.  You ask if our muscles get sore….they sure do.  We stretch every moment possible.  In the morning there are times our muscles feel like they could cramp up, we drink ridiculous amounts of water everyday to keep them going strong.

We do carry a First Aid kit.  Tim was certified as an emergency responder and made proper checks to ensure we had correct supplies.  And WOW is it useful!!  We’ve added duct tape to that kit, it’s one of the best inventions ever.

This question stumped me:  “Has your trip met your expectations yet?”  I try really hard not to set expectations for adventure, in the past that’s always set me up for a let down.  Instead, I set goals of things I’d like to try, see or do.

Sand storm in our tent....no bueno

That way, when we accomplish them it’s rewarding!    For instance, one goal was to sleep in the middle of the desert and that was accomplished numerous times in AZ and NM. accompanied by LOTS of sand in our tent!

Foooooooooddddd!   Because we’re biking for so many hours, we need to constantly be eating.  It’s one of my favorite parts of this trip.  One day for lunch we had tortillas, ham, cheese, apple sauce, beef jerky, chips, a pear and rootbeer!  (a convenience store special!)  We eat heaps of KIND granola bars, our bags are packed with them.

For our granola fix

We carry atleast 3 pieces of fruit each day.  We’re carrying Nutella, Peanut butter, honey, pretzels, tortillas as everyday staples.  At dinner, we’re eating mac n cheese w tuna on our very small camping stove.

“What is the favorite thing you have seen so far?”  To name a few:  the Mexican border, the California Sand Dunes, orange trees, cotton fields, the desert, Apache National Forest, the Rio Grande, the Continental divide….the list goes on and on!

Continental Divide near Silver City, NM

Funny you should ask about wild dogs.  Today was the first encounter with a dog and luckily the dog had eaten a little too much lately and couldn’t keep speed.   14 days and we’re still in one piece!

“Can you tell us a little about the different people you have met”  People are our favorite part about this trip.  To be brief:  we’ve met farmers, ranchers, US border patrol, Postal service workers, chefs, retired veterans, truck drivers, RV’rs, action sport enthusiasts, curious kids, fellow cyclists, nurses, mechanics, teachers, bankers, librarians, green thumbs, Spanish speakers, marathon runners, firefighters, students, artists, even a man walking across the country and many more amazing people.  Every day we’re reminded how great the human race is.  How unique each person can be and what it feels like to be welcomed by a total stranger.   Each personal interaction resonates, making me more aware of my actions towards people.  How kindness, can really change the world.

Think it’s awesome that you took your first backpacking trip last summer.  Keep asking to go on more trips!!!

About haileerustad

I love everything. I do things differently. Tending to avoid conformity. Accepting unknown adventure whenever its presented. My mission is to live, let life flow through me with endless energy. Exciting and empowering others to find their natural happiness. As life is, all perception.
This entry was posted in bikes, camping. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For Girl Scout Troop 20035 in Mason City Iowa

  1. Joan Rustad-Huisman says:

    Hailee, I am sure the girl scouts appreciated the time to answer their questions with more than a short answer! Very thoughtful! I enjoyed the bigger posting today, which means you have to take more time, but I appreciated more news. I guess I need to be able to tweet and read more??? when I retire I will take time. Miss you–keep safe—do you have time to journal? bAseball practice started this week —indoors. Snowing again today and colder. Lots of rain ,thunder and lightning the past couple days as the tons of snow melted away and flooding has started. bye love jjq oh and thanks for the postcards!!!

  2. Kyle Carter says:

    All I want to know is when Tim is getting a Pabst sponsorship.

Leave a Reply

