The joys of the road

My butt has taken on the look of a child with chicken pox.  My toe has an ingrown nail and is pussing.  My foot, a rash.  My knees ache in the mornings for the first 20 miles.  Both of my panniers have broken latches and are holding on by bungee cords.  My arms are obtaining a sun rash, tho we apply sunscreen hourly, it doesn’t prevent sunrash. My phone’s dead.  Camera is dying.   The tires on my bike tend to become flat.  We had an ant attack the other morning in the tent.  A gnat war during breakfast yesterday. We’re eaten by mosquitoes nightly.   And were showered by windshield wiper fluid in the Gulf Shores as we were honked at, yelled at and swevered at during the lunch hour of Spring Break on the beach.

Tho Tim endures the road, bumps, weather and me, he somehow doesn’t have a single problem with his body.  He doesn’t have to take bathes in Epsom salt, or put Neosporin on his be-hind nightly.  Or wash his shorts every 15 miles.   Or dig at his toe with a knife.  He hasn’t had to buy diaper rash cream, Gold bond or baby wipes.  He’s happy, healthy (gaining weight) and here, taking care of me as I slowly fall apart!  Amazing how this all works out!

About haileerustad

I love everything. I do things differently. Tending to avoid conformity. Accepting unknown adventure whenever its presented. My mission is to live, let life flow through me with endless energy. Exciting and empowering others to find their natural happiness. As life is, all perception.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The joys of the road

  1. Jocelyn/Zuni says:

    Hailee~ You can do this! I saw these words on the side of your blog in the Tweets many, many miles ago…
    “Dear body, know this: I don’t give up.”

    I loved this thought then and now you need to keep thinking it…

    Hope Florida treats you both well…Enjoy this last state!
    Peace~
    Jocelyn/Zuni

  2. Diane Miller says:

    Sorry you are having so many “body” problems!! I am writting this from Iowa where we have had rain and fog the past 4 or 5 days!!! Good luck in your rides–really enjoy reading about your ventures!!! Diane Miller

  3. Joan Rustad-Huisman says:

    We know you will survive this too, Hailee! We don’t know this pain but hope for your continued stamina and awesome outlook. We were thiniking of you and missing you at our easter table but know you will be here before long and we can give you all the hugs we’ve missed out. Take care..

    Gma, your dad, Kerin, Angie joined us for dinner and then rummy card playing which was great. lots of love joan john and quinn

Leave a Reply

