Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks

In LA for a week, working.  Staying in Santa Monica at the Viceroy, which is a block from the beach.  Normally, most would walk that block to spend their day off at the beach.

Not me.  Instead:  Up at 4am.  Drove for three and a half hours through California’s farmlands up into the Sierra Nevada mountains and to the sacred lands of our national park system.

View from Moro Rock

“WHY?”….I answer with ‘why not!?’  I live to spend my time surrounded by life, mystery and natural things that fascinate imagination!

General Sherman is so large, needs 2 photos!The worlds largest tree, by volume, General Sherman is 275ft tall!

The worlds largest tree, by volume, General Sherman is 275ft tall!

And that’s what a sequoia tree can do!  The largest trees, by volume, in the world, the Sequoia’s found in the properly named ‘Sequoia’ national park TOWER triumphantly over the forests here.

Using myself as a measurement key: Keep in mind, I'm 5'8"

Giant everything, including cones

To give you size and scope:  the worlds largest tree, General Sherman, weighs a measly, 1,385 tons…TONS, people, tons means times that by 2,000 lbs and you get 2,760,000 lbs  of one tree.  Mr. General Sherman is also 275 ft tall, in height, almost the length of a football field.

Along the Trail of the Sequoia's and High Sierra Trail

During hike thoughts:  Flabbergasted by the enormity of one living species.  These trees grant us, only for a second because our brain can’t handle scale, an opportunity to see beyond a hundred or two hundred years.  These Sequoia’s take us to a world 2,200 years ago.  We, humans are so small, so tiny, so miniscule in the grandeur picture we really are small.  Here we have the sun, warming up this mountainous landscape, gently kissing my skin as I walk in and out of shaded areas, as it shares heat with so many things, everything that exists.  ‘One thing touches everything…whoa.’  We have trees that can endure, survive and outlast time.  Creating an aromatic rich world inside the forest, where everything is still, yet moving.  When I stop, I hear the ‘mini-bears’ (ground squirrels, chipmunks) scurrying around, bluejays screaming, ravens cawing and mountain robins singing.  Insects are busy buzzing about the still day, no wind is allowed inside the giants, it can’t get here.  I feel like an elf among sky scrapers, my head, happy to be held by muscle and ligaments, launches backwards almost in a falling off manner, just to grab a view of what looks like the tops of these trees.  My jaw – permanently dropped, awe-struck by fascination.

At 7,395 ft, on top of Little Baldy

High Sierra's / view of JMT | PCT in distance

During time at the Foothills visitors center, a Park Ranger spoke of the Crescent Meadow Grove and said ‘chance of seeing bears nearby.’  Naturally, I wasn’t going to miss a ‘chance’ at a bear sighting.  So, hiking from General Sherman south along the Trail of the Sequoia’s, almost to Tharpers Log and Crescent Meadow a raven caught my eye as it was flying low, as I looked at it, I saw ears moving through the brush: BEARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!  “Whoa, that is a bear.

Black bear, although appearing brown, eating lunch!

Crescent Meadow

About haileerustad

I love everything. I do things differently. Tending to avoid conformity. Accepting unknown adventure whenever its presented. My mission is to live, let life flow through me with endless energy. Exciting and empowering others to find their natural happiness. As life is, all perception.
This entry was posted in national park, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks

  1. Joan Rustad-Huisman says:

    Oh my goodness!! Awesome trees those sequoias!!! great photos and I”m sure a wonderfuul hike! Just finished reading the last ten days you entered and enjoyed it all. It is great for me to learn new things through your eyes……..thanks Hailee for the time you take to write it down on the blog!!!

    I’m glad you checked out the student leadership program…sounds very interesting!!!
    love joan

Leave a Reply

