Childrens Books in Spanish….Needed, Please.

When you were five did you love to read books before you were going to bed?

What about when you were nine…did you like reading books then?

How about when you were 13, did you appreciate a good chapter book?

I sure know I did.  And a school of kids in Costa Rica are in need of the same fundamental nurturing.  They need the ability to have books in their hands.  To understand that reading IS important.  Books build on ‘knowledge is power.’

My dear friend Beth Dove is volunteering for the Peace Corps in La Virgen, Costa Rica.  One of her challenges is a school library project.  To create a library where kids can be excited, rewarded with books, words and knowledge.

As luck has it, I’ll be headed down to Costa Rica in April.  And have made it my personal goal to take Beth some books.

100 BOOKS!

My goal is 100 books in Spanish.  Books for children, ages 5-14.  Anything helps.  Books cost less than $1 on Amazon.   Can you help put a book into someone’s hand?

Amazon links:
Ages: 4-8
Ages: 9-12
More:

Scholastic Store:
Books in Spanish

Google Shopping:
Childrens Books in Spanish

You can buy Childrens Spanish books in Target, you can find them on half.com, you can go to the local thrift shop, you can ask your personal library if they have anything they’d like to donate.

If you are willing to take 5 minutes, spend a dollar or 3 and make a kids year.

Please send books to:

Hailee Rustad
11665 Surfbird Circle
Jacksonville, FL 32256
(This is my pernmanet address, my mom is helping with this, thanks Mom – Love you!)

I’m sending you a big hug right now.  Thanks for reading.  Thanks for passing this on.  Thanks for helping.  Thanks for being generous.  Thanks for sharing the gift of books.  Thanks for being you.  Thanks for sharing this thing called life!

About haileerustad

I love everything. I do things differently. Tending to avoid conformity. Accepting unknown adventure whenever its presented. My mission is to live, let life flow through me with endless energy. Exciting and empowering others to find their natural happiness. As life is, all perception.
This entry was posted in books, Costa Rica, Teacher, Travel, Volunteer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Childrens Books in Spanish….Needed, Please.

  1. Pingback: { wit + delight }: design / fashion / projects / oddities

  2. Lucia says:

    Done and Done!!!

  3. love this! going to do it…when is the deadline?

    • jenn king says:

      Hey folks! I live down here in CR and Children’s books in ENGLISH are also useful as many children are being raised bilingual. In addition to every couple or three spanish language books, why not look through your kids’ old favorites and include some of those so another child learning the language can share that joy!

      Well, done, Hailee! And we are SO LOOKING FORWARD TO HOSTING YOU when you get here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8703-2024 Jenn

  4. Pingback: 59 to go! | Vida Es Perfecta

  5. Hey there! I was just wondering if you still needed books. I would like to post this story on my blog tomorrow, but I want to make sure I have your permission before I go for it. If so, can I post the address information to make it easier for people when ordering, or do you just want me to link it to this blog? I want to make it as easy on people as possible. Let me know!

    http://www.chipperthings.com

  6. Pingback: Books: best enjoyed when available « Chipper Things

  7. I know Becky from college and saw it on her blog. I sent one! Jorge el Curioso (Curious George) should be arriving soon 🙂

  8. Pingback: Attention book givers! | Vida Es Perfecta

  9. Hey there! I work will Becky, and read on her blog that you are in need of some children’s books. I sent a few your way. Have fun in Costa Rica!

  10. Big Daddy says:

    You don’t know me but I’m posting here so you’ll know to expect a book, Despereaux, sent from Amazon to your mom’s address. I’m sure when random books start showing up at her house she’ll know they are for the project but I thought I should give a head-up anyway. I found this blog post through other library blogs I follow. I’m a library student and want to support your efforts. Best of luck!

  11. Sue Bestul says:

    Hailee,
    I am sending you 45 Spanish books from Scholastic Book Club on behalf of the Spanish Club at Northwood-Kensett Jr-Sr High School. The books will arrive on Friday. I have a list along with the Grade Level/Age Level if that would be helpful. Just e-mail me.
    Thank you for all you do to help others!
    Sue Bestul, Spanish

  12. Pingback: Bring Books to Kids | { wit + delight }

Leave a Reply

