First day on Telemark skiis

Normal is strapping a snowboard onto my comfortable boots. Gliding down the mountain at rapid speeds, ducking in and out of trees, shredding powder.

Not normal sunk in Sunday when my feet were jammed in these funny boots where it was numbing to walk. Then jimmy rigged two these two skinny skis…, nothing like the luxury of a snowboard. SO MANY MOVING PARTS. Then ski poles strapped around my wrists.

On the way up the mountain, Kari gave pointers, “just stand up when the lift gets there, snow plow to stop and make a lunge every-time you want to turn” That’s it folks. Thats how you telemark ski.

If life was just that easy! Baahahaha!

The best part of learning something new is the perspective changes it offers. The slopes that, when on a snowboard, seemed so easy to ride straight down and that offered zero contour now seemed like the most treacherous, mind boggling puzzle as to “how am I going to get down this alive?” To all my skiing friends: I have much respect for what you do!

For all you who don’t know the different between Apline skiing and Telemark skiing, don’t ask me, I’m a snowboarder!  Tho, on tele’s you have free heels, you lunge every turn, you aren’t as rigid and you’re legs burn 10 times as much!

Remind yourself:  Take daily risks.  Try something new.  Change your perspective!

About haileerustad

I love everything. I do things differently. Tending to avoid conformity. Accepting unknown adventure whenever its presented. My mission is to live, let life flow through me with endless energy. Exciting and empowering others to find their natural happiness. As life is, all perception.
This entry was posted in Colorado, snowboarding and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

